These Are A Few vol 1

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Favorites
Tags: , , ,

I like this stuff. You should too.

The New Girl

And not for the reason you might think. Yes, it does star Zooey Deschanel (if that is her real name) who is a total geek and hipster goddess. And yes she is terribly cute and precocious. That’s not the only reason to enjoy this show. The ensemble cast is quickly growing into one of the most solid in a crowded and otherwise played out genre. There’s only one other show on network television that makes me laugh out loud more than this one does and that just happens to be one of the best shows on all of television, Parks and Recreation. Do me a favor. If you haven’t already, try one episode. If you don’t like it, I’ll pay for your next cable bill.* I’m that confident you will.

TRUE CRIME

I’ve long had a fascination with the ‘True Crime’ genre of popular culture. A friend long ago and at far too tender of an age introduced me to a trashy little book called Bloodletters and Bad Men which recounted in great and sordid detail the terrible doings of terrible men (and the occasional woman.) It was where I was first introduced to the frightening history of Ed Gein, the man who inspired both Norman Bates and Leatherface. He was a real life Hannibal Lecter. I was pathological at one point about reading every possible thing I could about the Kennedy assassination. It was the one true crime tale that touched every American. I have followed with an almost personal interest in seeing justice prevail the tale of the Robin Hood 3 in the Paradise Lost series of documentaries. I mention this because, as a part of my renewed dedication to reading as often and as much as possible, I’m about to crack open The Monster of Florence: A True Story, the tale of how an American novelist and an Italian journalist become embroiled in the case of the most notorious serial killer in Italy’s history.

Cheerwine

I first discovered Cheerwine while I was doing some internet searching on so-called specialty sodas. It’s a regional soda, a subtle cherry in flavor,produced and bottled in the Carolinas. The description of the drink and the rave reviews that accompanied said description piqued my interest. I searched high and low in Austin and finally found it stocked in 4 packs at Spec’s. I chilled my first bottle in the freezer for about 30 minutes, twisted off the cap, and was introduced to pure heaven. Since that first miraculous 4 pack, Specs has resorted to selling only singles. And anytime I’m in Specs, I’ll buy everything they’ve got. Good luck finding it if you didn’t get there first. And if we get there at the same time, I will cut your ass.

As always, take the above with a grain of salt. Such things may not be to your taste. Doesn’t mean you’re a bad person. Just that you have bad taste.

*I was lying about the cable bill. I’m so NOT gonna pay your cable.

Leave a Reply

