These Are A Few vol 2

Posted: February 22, 2012 in Favorites
Tags: , , ,

I like this stuff.  You should too!

Soundtracks

I loves me some movies. I love great acting. A sharp, clever script. A beautifully composed camera shot. Directors who can draw out performances from their cast that no one imagined possible. There are so many elements that go into making a great movie. And one of those is a great score.

The importance of a great musical score in a film was first illustrated for me by John Williams’ collaborations with Spielberg, Lucas and Donner.  He created main title themes that will NEVER be forgotten. ET. Superman. Indy. Vader. The Jurassic Park T-Rex. You know them when you hear them.  In the early 90’s, I had the scores to Dances With Wolves and Last of the Mohicans on heavy rotation in my car CD player.  In fact, it was the latter that was in the player one of the three times a stereo was stolen from my vehicle.

Now, it doesn’t have to be a score by a composer like Mr. Williams or James Newton Howard who has done fine work on Chris Nolan’s Batman movies. Sometimes, the soundtrack can be a collection of songs by a singular artist, perhaps written for the film. Aimee Mann’s collection of songs for PT Anderson’s Magnolia comes to mind.

I don’t buy much popular music but of late I’ve been picking up some soundtracks. I took advantage of my President’s Day holiday to check out Cheapo Discs here in Austin. They have a great selection of used soundtracks and I was able to pick up the scores to Luc Besson’s The Big Blue and Korean monster movie The Host. I also picked up the classic Ennio Morricone score for The Mission and Peter Gabriel’s work for The Last Temptation of Christ. I’ve got some good listening ahead of me.

The Iron Sheik

A semi-retired professional wrestler who came to fame in the early 80s as the foreign villain to Hulk Hogan’s Real American hero. 

Quick wrestling history lesson: 

The Sheik was the WWF Champion who one month earlier had defeated the popular but doughy goody two-shoes Bob Backlund, holder of the title for the previous 6 years.  Vince McMahon had decided to put the belt on Hogan but couldn’t have two good guys face each other.  So, he built up the Sheik as a rabidly Anti-American Iranian zealot who would come to the ring waving the Iranian flag and incensing the hometown crowd.  This is known as building cheap heat.  Hogan had been groomed to become the face of the company and on a fateful January afternoon in Madison Square Garden, Hulkamania was born.  The Sheik went on the varying degrees of success in the WWF and other organizations while Hogan went on to become the face of professional wrestling in the 80’s and later the narcissistic, leathery old bastard who refuses to give up the ghost that he is today.

Now, The Iron Sheik makes the occasional nostalgic non-wrestling appearance on WWE programming and was inducted into the organization’s Hall of Fame in 2005.  He is notorious for his vehement and vitriolic condemnation of Hulk Hogan, whom it would appear the man legitimately hates.  Now, he has a Twitter account.  And it is glorious.  He rants against the likes of former wrestlers Hogan, Tito Santana, Virgil and The Ultimate Warrior and current celebrities like Chris Brown and whatever sap is on The Bachelor.  He praises the beauty of Giselle Bundchen and Rhianna.  He threatens to perform something in the “old country way” upon those he deems inferior.  I don’t really know what the “old country way” is but I have strong suspicions as to what it may involve.  And, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want to experience it.

Fair warning, The Sheikie is an equal opportunity offender but if you think you can handle it and you want a good chuckle, I highly recommend you follow him:  @the_ironsheik.

Nutella

It’s a chocolate hazelnut spread.  Says so right there on the container.  This delightful concoction was created in Italy in the early 60’s and eventually made its way overseas.  It can now be found in over 75 countries.  It’s good.  Seriously.  I would not lie.  Well, I would.  But not about food.  Never about food.  Yummy.

Comments
  1. I barely remember the Ironsheik in the short time I watch Wrestling, I didn’t the old celebs of the day use Twitter so maybe I should start looking into random celebs lol

    Also don’t forget your Vegimite!

  2. Sarah McCrane says:

    The last of the Mohicans is a very beautiful.

  3. Sarah McCrane says:

    Nutella is scrumptious, on vanilla wafers.

Leave a Reply

