File:ManofSteelFinalPoster.jpg

Man of Steel

Why this?

Because I love Superman.  Always have.  Always will.  I’ve read hundreds of comics featuring him.  I’ve seen pretty much every episode of Adventures of Superman, Lois & Clark and Smallville.  I’ve watched all four of Christopher Reeve’s films more times than I can remember.  Hell, I’ll even admit to loving Superman Returns with Brandon Routh in the classic red and blue tights.

It’s been seven years since that last polarizing entry in the movie franchise.  A lot of people thought it was boring.  A lot of people thought involving a kid was a mistake.  A lot of people just couldn’t get over the fact that Routh wasn’t Reeve.  As I stated, I liked it.  I thought Bryan Singer did a great job of connecting the film to the previous entries and that Routh was able to capture just a little bit of Reeve’s spirit with his mannerisms and aw shucks attitude.  Others are not nearly as generous.  They are entitled to their opinion.

The powers that be were ultimately dissatisfied with the results and the box office.  They cleaned house.  And Superman fans waited.  And waited.  And waited.

Then, a few years back Warner’s announced that Zack Snyder, fresh off his take on DC Comics classic graphic novel, Watchmen, had been tapped to direct a new film featuring their most iconic character.  Shortly after, a Brit named Henry Cavill was revealed to be the next man to nobly attempt to fill Chris Reeve’s large red boots.  Production started.  Stills were released and people finally saw Cavill in a slightly redesigned super-suit.  Some folks were cautiously optimistic.  Some were doomsayers.  And still, we waited.

The first trailer hit filled with fleeting images to sweeping music.  It looked…dark.  Some likened it to a Malick film.  I was curious but not thrilled.  Then another trailer hit filled with action and voice over and soaring music from the Hans Zimmer score.  The excited chatter picked up.  Suddenly, it started looking like this could actually be a damn good movie.  And still, we waited.

A Superman flick could end up being the best movie I see this whole summer and I couldn’t be happier.

We’re now three weeks out.  I don’t want to see another trailer.  I just want to see the movie. I’m tired of waiting.

Comments
  1. db124207 says:

    I’m a big Superman fan as well. I’m hoping it’s really good and not a dissapointment. I noticed that Kevin Costner stars in it. Looking forward to seeing it

  2. Brandon Z says:

    I’m with you on the new one. It looks pretty exciting. I liked Routh, but I’m definitely one of the people that wasn’t happy with the movie in general. But you know that.

Leave a Reply

