This!

Posted: July 16, 2013 in Movies, This!
Tags: , ,

File:Elysium Poster.jpg

Elysium

Why this?

Five words:  It’s directed by Neil Blomkamp.

If you know what that means, you know why I’m excited.  If instead you said, “Who’s Neil Blomkamp?” then I say pull up a chair foolish mortal  and let me tell you.

Back in the Summer of ’09, Mr. Blomkamp served up a hell of a piece of sci-fi pie called District 9.  It told the story of a South Africa overrun by prawn-like aliens who had been forced to live in slum conditions in a refugee camp in Johannesberg.  It was a clever, if obvious, meditation on the lingering effects of apartheid on the South African people.  It was ultimately nominated for 4 Academy Awards including Best Picture.  It was my favorite movie of the year.

Now, four years later, flush with the unexpected critical and box office success of his first film, Blomkamp is about to unleash another geek-friendly, sci-fi study on class warfare, this time starring Oscar winners like Matt Damon and Jodie Foster.  Now, I’ll admit I’ve never been the biggest fan of Damon and Foster but the writer/director wunderkind has more than earned another look from my wandering eyes.  I’m willing to bet this bad boy, like it’s cinematic brother, lands in my year-end top ten.

I can’t wait.

Elysium lands in theaters on August 9.  I’ll be there on opening day.

 

Leave a Reply

